#IMMOOC Week 3 (1 of 3): 25 Ways to Build Trust with Teachers

When I taught women in prison, trust was a four letter word to them. It took patience and hard work but it happened! One day as I was passing out markers, I was in the middle of saying, “The first person to ask for a specific color is the first person to NOT get that color,” when I was interrupted by a woman asking me for the blue marker. I finished my statement and gave her a different color. HOWEVER, the next day when I passed out the markers, without saying a word I handed her the blue marker. Later she told me, that was a turning point for her to starting trusting me.

Here’s a few more ways to build trust…

1.) Listen

2.) Be authentic

3.) Pop in their room to just say, “HI”

4.) Ask about their weekend

5.) Be transparent

6.) Listen

7.) Bring them a cup of coffee

8.) Do what you say and say what you mean

9.) Support them

10.) Trust their judgement

11.) Listen

12.) Involve them in decisions

13.) Make mistakes with them

14.) Ask for feedback

15.) Self-reflect in front of them

16.) Listen

17.) Empower them

18.) Do something outside of school

19.) Always have candy in your office

20.) Follow up with them

21.) Listen

22.) Say when you’re wrong

23.) Share resources with them

24.) Thank them

25.) Give them the blue marker

 

One Reply to “#IMMOOC Week 3 (1 of 3): 25 Ways to Build Trust with Teachers”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *