#IMMOOC Week 3 (2of 3): Do you want your students compliant, engaged, or empowered?

As a rule follower I like compliancy. I like order. However the interesting part is that my learning is messy and it is here and there and everywhere and it doesn’t follow any rules! I’m compliant in the fact that as part of my job I need to be up on best practices so I research. I’m engaged with what I see people doing and sharing. I’m empowered to create new things based off what I have learned.

I see this in some of the staff at my school. I provide online courses and they HAVE to choose 2.5 hrs of courses. It’s compliance if they stop there. If they apply their learning to their work, that’s engagement. And if they are empowered to create new things based off their learning, they have crossed over to empowerment! As of now, I have about a third of staff empowered. That’s not enough… So my next question is… does compliancy foster a barrier to empowerment if the task is something they don’t want to do in the first place?  Does it actually prevent you from being empowered?

And that my friends takes us full circle to mindset… It’s all about mindset.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *